Discussion Forum

Possible to use external (distributed) cassandra as backend

Hello,

I am new to GRAKN and it looks promising!

Is it correct that GRAKN (by default) is using a cassandra database as a backend, with a tinkerpop/janusgraph software layer on top. I cannot find any description of this in the documentation, it is only mentioned in other threads and blogs.

If so, is it possible to setup your own (possibly distributed) cassandra cluster and use that. I like to know if this is possible with the GRAKN Core, and without GRAKN KBMS.

Best regards,
Pieter.

Hi @pietermarsman!

Yes that is correct, Grakn is built on top of Cassandra and Tinkerpop/Janusgraph.

However, they are not separate entities and more or less comes in one box. Grakn is not designed to run with a separate Cassandra cluster.

If you need a cluster, you are encouraged to use KGMS (KBMS is the old name) which is available via Google Cloud or Amazon AWS.

Best regards,

Ganesh

@ganesh

What is the reasoning behind not allowing the use of external Cassandra.
Cassandra was designed to be a clustering data store and its true power only comes when there is a sufficiently large cluster. Running an embedded standalone instance is fine for local development work but that’s not acceptable in Production.
I understand KGMS is an option but the appearance is that people are being forced to pay for it.

I figure out how to get Grakn to connect to an external Cassandra cluster.
Before starting the server, modify grakn.properties with he Cassandra host like this

sed -ie ‘s|storage.hostname=.*|storage.hostname=${var.cassandra_host}|’ /grakn-core-all-linux/server/conf/grakn.properties

Unfortunately the embedded Cassandra instance will still run and waste a bit of resources.
This proves that it is possible to use an external Cassandra cluster.
I hope this setup will one day be officially supported.