Discussion Forum

Handling Rules at Different Levels of Abstraction

Hello,

I am relatively new to Grakn and am trying to figure out how to model my schema appropriately. I will illustrate my question with a specific example.

Let’s say I am trying to model the development of skill in a baseball player. I can think of this at different levels of abstraction for example, going from the abstract to the most concrete (see image):
Levels of Abstraction

Of course, a behavior can develop more than one skill. For example, ‘batting practice’ could develop ‘hand-eye coordination’, ‘upper body strength’, etc.

I would like to understand the best way to model this example in Grakn. The thing I am trying to enable with this example is to be able to define a relationship (or a rule?) at the highest level of abstraction and then allow Grakn to infer the rule at the lower level.

For example, if I were to then add an instance of a Behavior called ‘Catching Fly Balls’, I would want Grakn to two things:

1. (Ideally) attempt to infer which skill is being developed by that behavior, or (more probable) at least notify me when I have created a set of behaviors that has no skills.

2. Model (probably with attributes?) that, as the amount of time spent in the batting cage increases (e.g. 20 hours vs 1000 hours), the person’s skill in ‘home run hitting’ also increases (ideally according to some specified function e.g. home_run_hitting_skill = f(time in batting cage).

The ultimate objective in this would be to infer which athletes are skilled in what things based upon data we collect.

Any thoughts are most appreciated.

1 Like

hi @brendan ,

I really loved your model, and in Grakn there are lots of ways to model this system, most of the major variations depend on your objectives, whether trivial or looking for a game changer. Assuming the second, then my advice is to gain power through reframing the model, before considering the Grakn strategy.