Discussion Forum

Approach to Schema Design?

I’m just beginning my exploration of TypeDB. I’m trying to figure out a logical approach to TypeDB schema design. At first blush, based on the product description, entity relationship diagramming would seem to be a reasonable starting point. However, TypeDB schemas go well beyond what Chen defined, especially in its support for subtyping. And TypeDB’s handling of roles is more complex than the simple labeling of edges found in classical ERDs. So I’m left wondering if there are best practices for TypeDB schema design or any other resources that would aid my exploration and adoption of TypeDB.

–Gary Kopp

Hi @geez4,

Very good question, as yet there isn’t any official guidance published. Agreed, typical entity-relationship modelling falls short. I’ve previously written some general guidance here:

The overall theme is to create the most minimal model possible that captures all of the context you need. Rules should be used to compute any facts that are derivable from your model, this guards against introducing contradictions in your data.

As you hint at, roles are powerful. They are the means to indicate the context of a roleplayer within the scope of a relation.

You can find example schemas here:

When it comes to diagramming, please use the de-factor notation for TypeDB/TypeQL as seen on the company homepage. Use that from the start to build up a good intuition for how to use the model. Ideally just write your schema in TypeQL straight away as you draft it (it’s very fast to write, so not a chore) then regularly visualise it by loading the schema into a server and using Workbase. If it’s not what you wanted then delete the database and iterate on it as the fastest workflow to get started.

Lastly, Vaticle runs online webinars called Academy, which run through these concepts. In fact we also run training courses with this kind of content to get teams started with development fast.